Sean Watkins – Let It Fall


Out of stock

SKU: Sugar Hill 3928 Categories: , Tag:


Track Listing:
1. Neo’s Song - 3:49   2. Let It Fall - 4:00   3. January Second - 2:37   4. Ferdinand The Bull - 3:34   5. Cloudbreak - 3:30   6. The Birth - 3:05   7. The Ant And The Ant - 4:03   8. The Orange Autumn Days - 2:49   9. Nostalgic - 3:22   10. Over The Waterfall - 7:58

Sean Watkins (guitar, mandolin, background vocals) , Glen Phillips (vocals) , Dennis Caplinger (banjo) , Jerry Douglas (dobro) , Chris Thile (mandolin) , Sara Watkins (fiddle, background vocals) , Stuart Duncan / Luke Bulla (fiddle) , Todd Phillips / Kevin Hennessey / Bob Magnuson (bass) , Duncan Moore (drums)


1. AllMusic - Ronnie Lankford, Jr.
Certain artists spend their musical life as part of a band, others as a solo act. A few, like Sean Watkins, are comfortable in both settings. A member of Nickel Creek, Watkins is also an accomplished songwriter and one heck of a guitar player. On Let It Fall he has a chance to showcase both skills, resulting in a number of skillfully played, atmospheric instrumentals. Energetic fingerpicking jumpstarts the album on "Neo's Song," an acoustic feast featuring fiddler Stuart Duncan, mandolinist Chris Thile, and banjoist Dennis Caplinger. The only vocal shows up on the title track, sung by none other than Glen Phillips, frontman of Toad the Wet Sprocket. This track comes closest to the acoustic pop of Nickel Creek's self-titled debut. The placid "January Second" paints an evocative landscape that feels like late winter, and this tune wouldn't be out of place on a David Grier album. While mandolins or fiddles ground Let It Fall in the rhythms of bluegrass, the overall feel is closer to the progressive instrumental sound of Tony Furtado or Alison Brown. Dobroist Jerry Douglas, bassist Todd Phillips, and fiddler Stuart Duncan, all alumni of new acoustic music, join Watkins on several tracks. A number of gentle, atmospheric tunes like "Cloudbreak" and "The Birth" also attest to the strength of the writing on Let It Fall. For Nickel Creek fans who would like to hear more of Watkins's glorious guitar sound, and for those who enjoy engaging acoustic music, this album is a keeper.

You may also like…

Sean Watkins

Blinders On

Track Listing: 1. Summer’s Coming – 3:32   2. Starve Them to Death – 2:47   3. I’m Sorry –…

Read more Read more13,50

Chris Thile

Leading Off …

Track Listing: 1. Shadow Ridge – 2:43 2. Slime Rock – 4:54 3. Holdin’ Down The Fort – 3:00 4….

Read more Read more13,50


This Is Americana

Vol. 1

Compiled by the Americana Music Association, this album represents some of the very best country, bluegrass and rock artists recording…

Read more Read more13,50