The Pontiax – 100 Miles From Home

12,00 6,05

SKU: Blue Sting 0017 Categories: , Tag:


The word is finally out! Once considered by many locals in the know to be one of Southern California's best kept secrets, Mitch Kashmar is a name now found commonplace in the vocabulary of any true Blues harmonica enthusiast. And while his sudden arrival on the national Blues landscape may appear to be swift and unforeseen, Kashmar's rise to the top has been anything but. Long before establishing his current solo career status with the debut of 2005's heralded release Nickels & Dimes on Delta Groove Music, Kashmar had an extensively notable and successful first run with the Santa Barbara based group The Pontiax.
The Pontiax began life in the early 1980's, sweatin' it out and honing their chops in the local bars and venues in Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, and Ventura counties. By the mid-80's, Kashmar relocated to Los Angeles where The Pontiax's reputation as one of the premiere West Coast Blues bands continued to grow as they expanded their base and visibility across the Southern California region. As their popularity flourished, the band eventually took to the road with tours throughout the U.S., Canada, Europe and the South Pacific. Their notoriety also found them favor with many Blues luminaries whose high regard for their talent landed them opportunities to back up legends such as Albert Collins, Luther Tucker, Lowell Fulson, Jimmy Witherspoon, Pinetop Perkins, Pee Wee Crayton, Big Joe Turner and Eddie 'Cleanhead' Vinson.
100 Miles To Go is the welcome reissue of the long out of print classic 80's recording by The Pontiax featuring Mitch Kashmar, long before he became a household name. Recorded at Pacifica Studios in Los Angeles, California, the band's distinguished lineup features Jon Lawton and Bill Flores on guitars, Jim Calire on piano and organ, Jack Kennedy on bass, and Tom Lackner on drums. Also of special note is an appearance by legendary West Coast Blues harmonica virtuoso William Clarke, who generously lends his full-bodied tone to the storming instrumental Horn of Plenty. Delta Groove Music now proudly makes available once again this highly sought-after recording with the addition of two newly recorded bonus tracks by the original members of The Pontiax as they sound today!

Track Listing:
1. Night Creeper - 3:56   2. My Kinda Woman - 4:08   3. 100 Miles To Go - 3:32   4. Lip Service - 2:55   5. Gonna Find Someone New - 3:07   6. Horn Of Plenty - 4:45   7. Long As I Have You - 4:26   8. Walkin' Downtown - 4:57   9. Let It All Fall Dead - 4:57   10. I'm Sorry About That - 3:06

Mitch Kashmar (vocals, harmonica) , Bill Flores (guitar, tenor sax) , Jon Lawton (guitar) , Jack Kennedy (bass) , Tom Lackner (drums) , William Clarke (1st harmonica on 6) , Jim Calire (tenor sax, piano on 5,12, organ on track 9, piano on 11)