Johnny Yard Dog Jones – Ain’t Gonna Worry

13,50 9,68


Johnny Yard Dog Jones' powerful debut album features blues originals which tell vivid stories, from joy to jealousy... and reflect everywhere he's lived and everything he's felt. Born a sharecropper's son in Arkansas, Johnny eventually followed other family members north. A vital force in the Detroit blues scene since he moved there from Chicago in the early 1970s, Johnny is recognized as an excellent vocalist and harmonica stylist. In Ain't Gonna Worry, he offers up not only his singing and harp playing talents, but also his skills as a guitar player on several cuts.

1996 Living Blues Critic's Poll Best Contemporary Blues.
1997 Handy Award Winner Best New Artist.

Track Listing:
1. Don't Leave Me Broken-Hearted - 4:41   2. Cry for Me Baby - 4:16   3. Clouds in My Heart - 5:31   4. I Need a Sugar Mama - 3:41   5. Anything But Without You - 5:55   6. Tribute to Bill Doggett - 3:10   7. Your Used to Be - 3:45   8. Love Storm - 4:34   9. Ain't No Coochie Coochie Man - 5:29   10. Ain't Gonna Worry No More - 3:50   11. You Can't Call the Blues - 4:53   12. A Changed Feeling - 4:24   13. Goin' Home - 3:06

Johnny Yard Dog Jones (vocals, harmonica, lead guitar on 10,13, lead guitar solo on 11) , Johnny B. Moore (lead, rhythm guitar) , Bernard Reed (bass) , Kenny Smith (drums) , Detroit Junior (piano)


1. AllMusic - Scott Yanow
At the age of 55, Johnny Yard Dog Jones finally had the opportunity to lead his first record date in 1996. Originally a gospel guitarist, Jones gradually made the transition to becoming a blues singer who also played harmonica and just a bit of guitar. His singing is likable and full of emotion as he explores a set of music that emphasizes 1950s-style Chicago blues, along with occasional soul ballads, but as it turns out, guitarist Johnny B. Moore unintentionally (and consistently) steals the show. A much stronger soloist than Jones, Moore's fiery statements are the main reason to acquire this disc; he is quite a powerhouse. Also on this worthy set are pianist Detroit Junior, bassist Bernard Reed and drummer Kenny Smith.


You may also like…



20th Anniversary Collection


This second Earwig blues collection celebrates the 20th anniversary since producer and CEO Michael Frank began the label by taking…

Read more Add to cart13,50 7,26