Renée Raff & Pat Dahl – Among the Stars / We Dig Pat Dahl


SKU: Fresh Sound V122 Categories: ,


The Best Voices Time Forgot - Collectible Albums by Top Female Vocalists
Collector’s Edition - 2 Original LPs on 1 CD - · Original Cover Art, Liner Notes

Among the Stars
Originally from South Africa, Renée Raff settled in the United States in the early 1960s. She was a singer with an innate sense of musicality, no doubt thanks to her academic background —piano lessons and voice training from age 7, then the Royal College of Music in London, and Julliard. The material on "Among the Stars," her only album, recorded late in 1964, covers a wide range, from sophisticated Noel Coward, to jazzman Gerry Mulligan with lyrics, to Jan Pierewiet, a South African folk song. Arranger Billy Byers made subtle use of the fact that Miss Raff is an obviously jazz- oriented performer. His inventive arrangements left ample room for delivery while sustaining the mood of each tune, be it a soft ballad, or swinging up-tempo.

We Dig Pat Dahl
On this 1966 album, the luscious, blue-eyed, blonde Londoner (singer and dancer), with her versatile voice, unaffected articulation, subtle humor and sensuality, sings an eclectic track selection, which ranges from On the Good Ship Lollipop to I Who Have Nothing to Ten Cents a Dance. The lush, creative arrangements are due to the talent of Billy May, Lyn Murray, Benny Carter, Pete Rugolo, Shorty Rogers and Marty Paich, who made this album a perfect, if obscure, example of mid-’60s vocal pop.

Track Listing:
Renée Raff: 1. Starting Tomorrow - 2:07   2. Let There Be Love - 2:34   3. In the Interim - 1:53   4. Willow Weep for Me - 3:02   5. Jan Pierewiet - 1:48   6. Please Don't Leave Me - 2:00   7. Among the Stars - 2:20   8. He Lied - 2:15   9. Mad About the Boy - 2:00   10. April's Fool - 3:00   11. Little Girl Blue - 2:31   12. Butterfly with Hiccups - 1:57   Pat Dahl: 13. Stout-Hearted Men - 3:03   14. I'm In Love With the Honorable Mr. So & So - 3:36   15. It's Alright With Me - 3:47   16. I Who Have Nothing - 2:45   17. On the Good Ship Lollipop - 3:43   18. There's No Fool Like an Old Fool - 2:26   19. Oh, Johnny - 4:00   20. What Now My Love - 3:03   21. Ten Cents a Dance - 4:26    22. Show Me - 2:09   23. Lonely Woman - 3:42   24. Someone to Watch Over Me - 2:12

Tracks #1-12, from the Renée Raff album
“Among the Stars” (Audio Fidelity AFSD-6142)
Tracks #13-24 from the Pat Dahl album
“We Dig Pat Dahl” (Audio Fidelity AFSD-6157)


Personnel on "Among the Stars":
Renée Raff, vocals
With Orchestra Arranged and Conducted by Billy Byers
Tracks #1-3, 5-8, 12: J.J. Johnson, trombone; Jerome Richardson, tenor sax & flute; Don Elliott, vibes & clavietta; Hank Jones, piano; Milt Hinton, bass; Osie Johnson, drums.
Tracks #4, 9-11: Barry Galbraith, guitar; Ernie Furtado, bass; Ronnie Bedford, drums.
Recorded in New York City, 1964

Personnel on "We Dig Pat Dahl":
Pat Dahl, vocals
With Orchestras Arranged & Conducted by Benny Carter (#15,23), Billy May (#13,20), Lyn Murray (#16,21), Marty Paich (#17,22), Shorty Rogers (#19,24), Pete Rugolo (#14,18)
Featuring: Harry Edison, trumpet; Buddy Collette, reeds; Don Abney, piano; John Gray, guitar; Shelly Manne, drums.
Recorded in Los Angeles, 1966