Bill Evans – New Jazz Conceptions

13,50 8,47

SKU: Riverside 005 Categories: ,


Track Listing:
1. I Love You – 3:55   2. Five – 4:03   3. I Got It Bad And That Ain’t Good – 1:39   4. Conception – 4:47   5. Easy Living – 3:53   6. Displacement – 2:36   7. Speak Low – 5:10   8. Waltz For Debby – 1:20   9. Our Delight – 4:47   10. My Romance – 2:01   11. No Cover, No Minimum (Take 1) – 8:14   12. No Cover, No Minimum – 7:31

Bill Evans (piano) , Teddy Kotic (bass) , Paul Motian (drums)
Recorded in New York, September 18 and 27, 1956


1. AllMusic - Scott Yanow
Bill Evans' debut as a leader found the 27-year-old pianist already sounding much different than the usual Bud Powell-influenced keyboardists of the time. Even in 1956 (more than a year before he joined the Miles Davis Sextet), Evans had his own chord voicings and a lyrical yet swinging style. Three selections here are taken solo (including the original version of his classic "Waltz for Debby"), while the other eight are performed in a trio with bassist Teddy Kotick and drummer Paul Motian (including his future theme "Five," "Speak Low" and "No Cover, No Minimum"). A strong start to a significant career. 

You may also like…


The Music of Johnny Carisi


One of the most important movements in the late ‘40s and early 50’s jazz, was the conscious effort of well-schooled,…

Read more Read more13,50

George Russell

Complete 1956-1960 Smalltet & Orchestra Recordings


Although George Russell (1923-2009) first emerged on the avant garde jazz scene in 1946, when he wrote for Gillespies Afro-Cuban…

Read more Add to cart20,00 15,73