Corey Harris – The Insurrection Blues


SKU: MC 89 Categories: ,


"Insurrection Blues" by acclaimed blues singer and artist Corey Harris was released on November 5th, 2021. This marks Corey’s 1st release in over 3 years.
“Insurrection Blues,” is Corey Harris' 20th album overall and first for M.C. Records, continues a blues journey that began with his debut album Between Midnight and Day in 1995. The songs are full topical relevance, yet steeped in tradition and informed by his musical explorations over the decades. Recorded in Italy under shutdown conditions, the album returns to the solo acoustic format that's been his base since his early days as a busker in New Orleans.
Given his gift of synthesizing many musical strands into a seamless piece of work, it’s no wonder Harris has received many accolades. He’s a sought-after collaborator, too. He was featured in the Scorsese film “Feel Like Going Home” and on the now-classic “Mermaid Avenue” albums of rediscovered Woody Guthrie songs, for which he wrote some of the music. Corey has collaborated with B.B. King, Tracy Chapman, and Dave Matthews.
In “Insurrection Blues” Harris brings some necessary commentary into his acoustic universe. Like many of us, he was paying attention to national events during the pandemic lockdown. And when he saw the profoundly disturbing events in Washington DC on January 6th, the path of his next album became clear. “I felt there was a duty, a responsibility, to use the craft to say something.”
His feelings about the insurrection made a framework for the album, whether the songs were explicitly connected or not. “As an African American living in America, as a descendant of slaves that built this country, I am looking at the survival mechanisms that have existed for people to persevere in difficult times. And when we think about that, the blues always comes to mind.”

Track Listing:
1. Twelve Gates To The City – 3:11   2. Some Of These Days – 3:11   3. When Did You Leave Heaven – 3:05   4. Toubaka – 2:10   5. Mama Africa – 4:57   6. Special Rider Blues - 6:24   7. Sunjata - 2:19   8. Interlude - 0:29   9. Insurrection Blues - 3:11   10. Boats Up River - 1:52   11. By and By - 3:31   12. You Gonna Quit Me Baby - 2:48   13. Afton Mountain Blues - 3:33   14. That Will Never Happen No More - 3:21   15. Scottsville Breakdown - 1:41