Bishop Dwayne Mason & Friends – Just Can’t Make It By Myself


SKU: The Sirens 5029 Categories: ,


Bishop Mason has two other recordings on The Sirens Records: 2003's "Glory! Glory!", critically acclaimed by the New York Times, and "Heavenly Keys". Bishop Mason's piano and organ playing is energetic and joyful, sometimes it's funky or bluesy, and sometimes it's sophisticated and sweet. There were three sessions for these 2019-2020 recordings. Bishop Mason chose three musical colleagues that he knew would inspire him: Eugene Ross III from Los Angeles, California, Dr. Curtis Daniel from the Cleveland, Ohio area, and Leonard Maddox of Chicago. All three bring energy and excitement to the studio. Special guest and legendary Mother Vernon Oliver Price sings on two tracks and electrifies us with her power and vigor.

Track Listing:
1. I Love Jesus - 3:39   2. I Just Can't Make It By Myself - 4:01   3. Jesus Will - 3:57   4. Lord Help Me To Hold Out - 3:14   5. Jesus, That's My King - 3:19   6. I'm Sealed Till The Day Of Redemption - 6:06   7. He Looked Beyond My Faults - 5:37   8. Search Me Lord - 3:34   9. Speak To My Heart - 4:19   10. I've Got A Testimony - 3:45   11. The Blood Will Never Lose It's Power - 8:24

Dwayne Masson (piano, organ) , Curtis Daniël (organ, vocals on 1) , Leonard Maddox (organ) , Eugene Rosa III (piano, vocals on 4,5,7) , Vernon Oliver Price (vocals on 2,11) , Richard Gibbs (bass) , Christopher Jones / Michael Eason (drums) , Antoine Taylor Jr. / Ayden Talor (tambourine)


1. - 2023.03 - GREAT
On September 11th 2002, a year after the terrible attack to New York Trade Center, a group of friends and musicians came to a building roof on downtown Chicago to memorialize that sad event. Among the musicians who met there was piano player Erwin Helfer who, after listening to Bishop Dwayne Mason playing a gospel song on piano, became so impressed by his powerful performing that he immediately recommended him to the record label The Sirens to record him. A year later The Sirens released Bishop’s first album for the label entitled “Glory! Glory!”, which was followed by “Heavenly Keys” where three piano players played gospel all together.
The Sirens with its owner Steven B. Dolins on front, decided to publish a series of piano, organ and vocals gospel albums with artists like Jeddy Dickson, Geraldine And Pastor Donald Gay, Elsa Harris, Lavelle Lacy, Nash Shaffer Jr. or Eddie Robinson among others. Now Steven has counted again with Bishop Dwayne Mason who, this time, has invited some friends and colleagues to participate in this album. They are Curtis Daniel on organ and vocals, Leonard Maddox on organ, Eugene Ross III on piano and vocals, Vernon Oliver Price on vocals, Richard Gibbs on bass, Christopher Jones and Michael Eason on drums and finally Antoine Taylor Jr. and Ayden Taylor on tambourine. The result is an album with eleven songs of pure, fascinating and passionate gospel where the spirit of Jesus can be felt in every note as if you were on a Sunday morning church service.

You may also like…


Reverend Dwayne R. Mason

Glory! Glory!

Track Listing: 1. Down by the Riverside – 2:16   2. How I Got Over – 3:02   3. Angels Keep Watching…

Read more Add to cart13,50 9,68

Gospel Keyboard Trio

Heavenly Keys

Track Listing: 1. Church House Rock – 4:26   2. Pray for Me – 5:26   3. We’ve Come a Long Way…

Read more Add to cart13,50 12,10